Roots Percussion Group

by Roots Percussion Group

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 AUD  or more




Debut Ep from 6-piece band that uses conga melodies and rhythm as the basis for innovative compositions.

Comprised of four percussionists, guitar, bass, and vocals, the band includes members from the diverse backgrounds of Peru, Chile, Uruguay, Ecuador, Morocco, Greece, and Australia. Their music uses these cultural elements in unique combinations to form new rhythms, while also adhering to traditional forms. For example, the song "Echate" uses a traditional Candombe rhythm from Uruguay. The rhythm arrived with the transatlantic slave trade, and during Uruguay's modern carnival, the drumming precession's slow movement emulates the shackles used to bind their feet.

We respectfully acknowledge these ancestors. They include the native indigenous peoples of Latin America and Africa. It is they who we owe these great musical traditions and we respectfully and humbly honour them. The musical history of Latin America is a rich one and we urge people to investigate it.

In homage to these people, we call ourselves "Roots" as an acknowledgment that the music we play comes from a rich musical and cultural history which is far greater than we could ever encapsulate. It is these ancestors that give the world the great musical traditions. The album artwork, which was drawn by renowned Melbourne artist Katherine Gailer, represents the ancestors of the world that lie at the source of all music.They are the true inspiration for this album, and for our lives as professional musicians.

We hope you enjoy this album that has been a pleasure to record and compose, and urge you to investigate further the rich musical traditions of Latin America, the great history of the continent, and its native peoples.


released March 3, 2016

Roots Percussion Group is Giorgio Rojas, Aykho Akriff, Adm Ventoura, Dave Rodriguez, Luis Robalino, and Vincent Sebastian.

All songs written and arranged by Roots Percussion Group.
Produced and mixed by Vincent Sebastian.
Recorded at Rec Studios, Sydney.
Mastered by Yogi at Random Soul Records.
Album Artwork by Katherine Gailer


all rights reserved



Roots Percussion Group Sydney, Australia

Roots Percussion Group in a 6-piece band from Sydney Australia. Comprised of four percussionists, guitar, bass, and vocals, the members backgrounds include Peru, Chile, Uruguay, Ecuador, Morocco, Greece, and Australia.

contact / help

Contact Roots Percussion Group

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like Roots Percussion Group, you may also like: